Twitter Ban: Five Governors Remain Active, Tweet

3 days ago Dammylink 0

Some prominent Nigerians have continued to defy the ban on micro-blogging and social media platform, Twitter, by President Buhari-led administration despite the threat by the Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami to prosecute Nigerians still posting or using the microblogging site.

Last Friday, the federal government spokesman, Lai Muhammed announced the indefinite suspension of Twitter’s operations in Nigeria over what it termed, “the persistent use of the platform for activities that are capable of undermining Nigeria’s corporate existence.”

Some Governors have been using VPN to access Twitter.

Among those yet to comply with Buhari’s order are:

The Governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde, Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State, Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State and Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu.

Facebook Comments Box